国家历史

怒涛塔是一座二战时期的堡垒,矗立在距离英国东海岸7英里的公海之上,历经北海惊涛骇浪的洗礼。 这里随后成了一个国家的诞生地。

堡垒起源

二战时期,为保卫其海岸线免受德国军队入侵,英国政府在北海建造了多个堡垒岛屿。 其中几个堡垒是在国际水域非法建造的。

这些海上堡垒驻扎了足够多的部队,他们可以操作维护防空武器,用以击落德军战机以及拦截德军导弹。 这些堡垒位于英格兰东海岸,与英国领海接壤。 这些堡垒采用钢筋混凝土制成,其中一座有名的堡垒就是位于北海的怒涛塔。 按照原计划,怒涛塔本来是要建在英国主权范围内,事实却不然:这座堡垒建在了距离英国海岸大约7海里处,是当时国际公认的3海里领海范围的两倍多。 简言之,这座岛屿非法建在了北海的国际水域内,但在战时这些限制却被忽略了。 二战后,英国海军部从所有这些堡垒中撤离了所有海军人员和海军陆战队士兵。 此后,英国再也没有派兵驻守这些堡垒,而是放弃了对它们的主权,任由它们自生自灭。 除了这座堡垒,其他位于英国国际边界之外的堡垒都被悉数拆除。 因此,公海上的怒涛塔堡垒成了一座被遗弃的无主孤岛,它的独特魅力由此而生。 从法律层面看,怒涛塔构成了英国国家以外的领土。 这为日后有人占领埋下伏笔。

西兰开国

上世纪60年代初,英国陆军少校罗伊·贝茨在一座海上废弃的前海军堡垒“诺克约翰堡”建立了一家无线电台。 当时有着苛刻的广播限制, 只允许BBC从事正式广播,而选择在这里建无线电台,所采取的理论就是绕开这一限制。

不管是罗伊电台,还是“埃塞克斯电台”以及其他类似的电台,都被媒体亲切地称为“海盗”电台。这些电台提供了BBC当时无法提供的一切,包括流行音乐和幽默风趣的主持人,因此深受英国公众喜爱。
在接下来几年里,罗伊与英国政府打了一场官司,但以失败而告终,英国政府质疑他占领诺克约翰堡的合法性。 法院裁定诺克约翰堡属英国管辖范围。 罗伊因受挫而痛苦不已,他权衡了自己的选择。 另一座废弃的堡垒怒涛塔在建筑上与诺克约翰堡完全相同,而位置却在更远的近海,更重要的是,位于英国管辖范围扩大到的3英里限制之外。 1966年平安夜,罗伊占领了怒涛塔,希望恢复自己中断已久的电台。 但就在此时,他想出了一个完全不同的计划。 在征询了律师的意见后,罗伊决定宣布这个堡垒岛屿为独立国家“西兰”,要求对这片地球上 “无主之地”(Terra Nullius)实行 “万国公法”。

1967年9月2日,罗伊在妻子琼、儿子迈克尔(14岁)、女儿佩内洛普(16岁)以及几位好友与拥护者的陪同下宣布西兰公国成立,而这一天正好是琼的生日。 一面新设计的国旗冉冉升起标志着这个国家的诞生,罗伊选择了一个极其浪漫的庆生方式,向爱妻授予了新头衔—— “琼王妃”。

贝茨一家望着庞大的建筑物在爆炸巨响中抛向了数百英尺的空中。

不久后,英国政府做出决定,他们不能允许出现部长们所说的“英格兰东海岸古巴”。 他们立即派遣军队摧毁国际水域的其他一切剩余堡垒。

西兰主权战役

罗伊亲王与琼王妃

独立宣言发表后不久,罗伊之子迈克尔王子至少击退了七次武装入侵,动用了大量枪支、燃烧瓶和自制射弹。 到1968年底,西兰发现自己要在几条战线上为生存而战,因为英国政府已经意识到西兰,以及这个离他们海岸7英里的新国家带来的潜在问题。

英国官员迫不及待地要将这个新成立的国家扼杀在摇篮之中,于是要求英国军方除掉罗伊亲王并摧毁怒涛塔。 英国军方担心自己在国际水域非法建造堡垒会产生负面影响,因此急于迅速而巧妙地解决这个问题。 英国军舰多次进入罗伊亲王宣称的领海。 在多次企图武力夺取堡垒失败后(有一次甚至采用哄骗伎俩),英国海军打了退堂鼓。 在另一起事件中,一艘英国政府船舶入侵西兰水域,致使迈克尔王子果断采取防御措施,向对方发出了鸣枪警告。 迈克尔王子依然是英国公民,因此回英国后受指控犯有数项罪行,还接到了英国法院的传唤。 这场诉讼结果却让西兰彻底成功地宣示了主权。 法院在1968年11月25日的判决中宣布,法院对于西兰案中的罗伊和迈克尔不具有管辖权,因为法院无法在英国国土以外行使任何管辖权。 这是首次实际上承认西兰公国的存在。 英国法律做出裁决,西兰不属于英国领土,也没有其他任何国家声称对西兰拥有主权,因此罗伊亲王的建国宣言实际上获得了认可。 1990年又发生了一起鸣枪警告,当时一艘船偏离航道,太过靠近西兰,招致西兰方面再次鸣枪警告。 该船船员向英国当局提出抗议,随后一家全国性报纸刊登了这一事件的详细报道。 然而,尽管英国严格禁止枪支,但英国当局从未追究此事。 这明确表明,英国认为西兰不在他们的管辖范围之内。

建立新国家

1975年9月25日,罗伊亲王宣布了《西兰公国宪法》。

西兰随后制定了其他国家象征,推出了国歌、邮票以及西兰元金银铸币。 西兰为众多帮助公国成立发展的人制作颁发了西兰公国护照。

政变

1978年8月,一名德国商人雇佣了多名荷兰人和德国人来到西兰。他们打着经商的幌子前来。事实上这是一个诡计,这些人其实是受训过的雇佣军

他们乘罗伊亲王不在西兰之际绑架了他的儿子迈克尔,强制接管了西兰。 这帮恐怖分子将迈克尔王子的手脚捆绑后囚禁了数日,最后强行将他虏到拖网渔船上。 拖网渔船抵达荷兰后,迈克尔王子返回了英国,与父亲罗伊亲王团聚。 一个代号名为“三叉戟行动”的计划立即提上了日程。 西兰训练有素的忠诚公民接到了征召,传奇的“西兰特战队”因此应运而生。 这项行动在几天后实施。 他们在拂晓时分勇敢发动了一次直升机突袭,迫使入侵者无条件投降,这次行动取得了圆满成功。

如想了解该事件唯一的第一手真实资料,请参阅迈克尔王子在《守卫堡垒》一书中的回忆,可在此处获取

入侵者被当作战犯关押起来。 在此期间,德国政府和荷兰政府请求释放他们。 起初他们要求英国介入此事,但英国政府援引之前的法院裁决作为证据,表示无权管辖西兰领土,一切无能为力。 随着战争的结束,罗伊亲王释放了荷兰公民,因为《日内瓦公约》规定必须释放所有囚禁者。 然而,这名德国公民持有西兰护照。 正因如此,他因叛国罪在西兰接受了审判。 他被判有罪,然后被长期关押在北塔深处的西兰监狱内。 后来,德国直接派出一名外交官乘坐直升机前往西兰,就释放本国公民的问题进行了谈判,这次颇具轰动性的会晤事实上也承认了西兰的主权。 军事反击没有造成人员丧生,罗伊亲王对此表达了庆幸之情。为了避免西兰声誉遭受破坏,他释放了那名犯有叛国罪的德国公民。

领海延伸

1987年10月1日,英国将自己的领海 从3海里延伸到12海里。 就在前一天,罗伊亲王预料到 这一点,于是他宣布西兰领海范围扩大到12海里,这样从公海到西兰的通行权就不会被英国宣布拥有主权的水域(西兰距离英国海岸大约7英里)所阻挡。

英国和西兰没有签订任何划分重叠区域的条约,但可以假设两国之间的总体政策是将重叠区域从中间划分。 国际
法不允许在领海权延长期间提出新的土地要求,所以西兰主权可以安全地免受新法规限制。 一些国家可能以此为借口企图颠覆国际法,对面积较小、不被认可的国家宣称拥有所有领土的主权,但事实并非如此。 英国没有试图接管西兰,英国政府也依然将西兰视为独立国家。

二十一世纪最初十年:数据与灾害

1999年初,一群年轻的美国企业家向迈克尔王子提出了“避风港公司”(Havenco)的理念。 前提是在西兰建立一个互联网服务器农场,让用户可以避开其他国家实施的严格审查限制。.

2000年,正值互联网繁荣时期,他们签订了合同,筹集了资金,在西兰成立了避风港公司,并在伦敦和阿姆斯特丹建立了基地。 为了安置运行庞大的服务器机架和满足项目的后勤需求,正式开始了大规模的基础设施升级 安装了卫星和微波链路,大约25名来自美国、英国和欧洲的员工移民到西兰,为推出这项服务做准备。 避风港公司获得了全球媒体的报道,项目的启动受到了广泛的关注。 这被证明是避风港公司的第一个失误,因为这项服务的推出一直遭受延迟困扰,而到了推出的那天,媒体热议早已冷却。

到了2000年末,避风港公司启动了。 就可接受用户政策这一问题,西兰王室家族和避风港公司高级管理层成员之间立即出现了分歧。 启动后第二年,避风港首席执行官(CEO)也以个人问题为由返回美国。 到了2002年下半年,避风港首席技术官(CTO)也在矛盾尖锐的情形下离开公司。 2003年,随着资源迅速耗尽,避风港公司最终解体。

2006年6月,西兰的一台发电机出现异常故障,引发了一场火灾。 大火迅速烧穿了发动机房外壳,吞噬了整个北部甲板。 英国王室空军沃蒂森派遣了一架救援直升机,救出一名西兰公民。 他因吸入烟尘被空运至医院接受治疗,随后于当天出院。 公国与英国王室空军海空救援队建立了良好的关系,多年来一直允许他们进行从西兰堡垒空运伤亡人员的演习。

在随后几周里,组建了一支不少于10人的队伍负责清理和修复火灾损失。

注册一块西兰领土,支持公国万世长存。
加入购物筐

History of a nation

Seven miles off the eastern shores of Britain, being battered by the North Sea, a World War II Fort stood in international waters; Roughs Tower. It was to become the birthplace of a nation.

The Origin of our Fortress

During the Second World War, the British government built several Fortress islands in the North Sea to defend its coasts from German invaders. Some of these forts were built illegally in international waters.

These sea forts housed enough troops to man and maintain anti-aircraft weaponry designed to shoot down German aircraft and missiles. They were situated along the east coast of England, on the edge of British territorial waters. One of these forts, consisting of concrete and steel construction, was the now famous Roughs Tower, situated in the North Sea. In contrast to the original plan to locate the tower within the sovereign territory of Great Britain; this fortress was situated at a distance of approximately 7 nautical miles from the coast, which is more than double the then internationally accepted 3 mile range of territorial waters. To put it briefly, this island was illegally placed in the international waters of the North Sea, but such restrictions were overlooked in a time of war. Following WWII, the naval personnel and marines were withdrawn from all of these forts by the British Admiralty. None of them were ever manned by the United Kingdom again, leaving the forts deserted to nature and the elements, thus abandoning their sovereignty. Save the aforementioned fortress, the other forts outside UK international limits were subsequently demolished. This resulted in the portentous uniqueness of the Roughs Tower fortress, situated at the high seas, it had been deserted and abandoned, ‘res derelict’ and ‘terra nullis’. From a legal point of view, it therefore constituted extra-national territory. This paved the way for occupation.

The birth of sealand

In the early 60’s, Roy Bates, a Major in the British army, established a radio station, situated offshore on an abandoned ex naval fort named “Knock John”. The theory behind this location was an attempt to bypass the draconian broadcasting restrictions of the time, which permitted little more than formal broadcasting by the BBC.

Roy’s station, “Radio Essex”, and others like it, were known affectionately by the media as “Pirate” radio stations, and were much loved by the British public, as they supplied everything that the BBC did not at the time; Pop music and amusing presenters.
In the years that ensued, Roy fought an unsuccessful legal battle with the UK government, which questioned the legality of his occupation of said fort. It was ruled that “Knock John” fell under UK jurisdiction. Smarting from his setback, Roy weighed his options. Another abandoned fortress, Roughs Tower, identical in construction to the Knock John existed further offshore, and crucially, outside of the three mile limit to which the UK jurisdiction extended. Roy proceeded to occupy Roughs Tower, on Christmas eve 1966, with the intention of revitalising his dormant radio station. This was until he conjured a different plan entirely. After consulting his lawyers, Roy decided to declare this fortress island the independent state of “Sealand”, Claiming “Jus Gentium” (“Law of Nations”) over a part of the globe that was “Terra Nullius” (Nobody’s Land).

On the 2nd of September 1967, accompanied by his wife Joan on her birthday, his son Michael (14), daughter Penelope (16) and several friends and followers, Roy declared the Principality of Sealand. The founding of this country was marked by the raising of a newly designed flag, and in an extremely romantic birthday gesture, the bestowing of a new title on his beloved wife, to be know from that moment on as “Princess Joan”.

Bates family looked on as huge explosions sent the massive structures hurtling hundreds of feet in the air,

It was not long before the British Government decided they could not have what ministers described as a possible “Cuba off the east coast of England”. The military were promptly dispatched to destroy all other remaining forts located in international waters.

Battles for Sealand’s Sovereignty

Prince Roy and Princess Joan circa 1967

Shortly after the declaration of independence, Roy’s son, Prince Michael, repelled no less than seven armed invasion attempts, employing an arsenal of guns, Molotov Cocktails and homemade projectiles. By late 1968, Sealand would find itself battling for survival on several fronts as the British government had become aware of Sealand, and the potential problems associated with a new country seven miles off of their coast.

Eager to quash the fledgling nation, officials in the UK tasked the British Military with removing Prince Roy and destroying Roughs Tower. The British military were keen to resolve this problem swiftly and subtly for fear of repercussions, having themselves placed the fortress illegally in international waters. On several occasions British warships entered the territorial waters claimed by Prince Roy. After several failed attempts to capture the fortress by force (and one time by deception), the British Navy stood down. In a separate incident, an incursion by a UK Government vessel into Sealand’s waters led to Prince Michael undertaking decisive defensive measures by way of warning shots across it’s bow. Prince Michael was still a British citizen, thus he was charged with extensive crimes upon his return to Britain and summoned to an English court. The result of this lawsuit was a spectacular success for Sealand’s claim to sovereignty. In its judgement of 25 November 1968, the court declared that it was not competent in Roy and Michael of Sealand’s case as it could not exert any jurisdiction outside British national territory. This was the first de facto recognition of the Principality of Sealand. British law had ruled that Sealand was not part of the United Kingdom, nor did any other nation claim it, hence Prince Roy’s declaration of a new state was de facto upheld. A further firearms incident occurred in 1990 when a ship strayed too near Sealand and warning shots were again fired from Sealand. The ship’s crew protested to British authorities and a national newspaper article ran detailing the incident. Yet despite Britain’s severe prohibition of firearms, British authorities have never pursued the matter. This is a clear indication that Britain considers Sealand to be outside of their jurisdiction.

Building a new nation

On the 25th of September 1975, Prince Roy proclaimed the Constitution of the Principality of Sealand.

Over time, other national treasures were developed, such as it’s national anthem, stamps, as well as gold and silver coins, minted as Sealand dollars. Principality of Sealand passports were produced and issued to many of those who have contributed to the formation and continuation of the Principality.

Coup d'État

In August of 1978, a number of Dutch and German men came to Sealand in the employ of a German businessman. They were visiting under the guise of a business proposition. This transpired to be a ruse, as these men were in fact highly trained mercenaries.

While Prince Roy was away they kidnapped his son Michael, and took Sealand by force. These terrorists bound Prince Michael’s hands and feet, holding him captive for several days, before eventually transferring him against his will onto a fishing trawler. Following the trawler’s landing in the Netherlands, Prince Michael made his way back to the UK to reunite with his father, Prince Roy. A plan was immediately hatched to recapture Sealand, codenamed: Operation Trident. Sealand’s most loyal and highly trained citizens were called upon, and the legendary ‘Sealand Special Unit’ was born. The operation was executed a few short days later. It involved a daring dawn helicopter assault, and culminated in the unconditional surrender of the invaders.

The only true first hand account of this event is recalled in Prince Michael’s book: ‘Holding the Fort’, available here

The invaders were held as prisoners of war. During this period, the governments of Germany and the Netherlands petitioned for their release. Initially they asked Britain to intervene in the matter, but the British government cited their earlier court decision as evidence that they held no authority over the territory of Sealand, stating that there was nothing that they could do. Prince Roy released the Dutch citizens, as the war was over, and the Geneva Convention mandates the release of all prisoners. The German citizen however was the holder of a Sealand passport. Because of this, he was tried on Sealand for treason. Found guilty, he was incarcerated for an extended period of time in Sealand’s jail, at the bottom of the North Tower. Following this, in a sensational act of de facto recognition of Sealand’s sovereignty, Germany sent a diplomat directly to Sealand via helicopter to negotiate the release of their citizen. Prince Roy, grateful that the counter attack had not resulted in a loss of life, released the treasonous German citizen, in a move aimed at preventing the bloodying of Sealand’s reputation.

Extension of territorial waters

On 1 October 1987, Britain extended its territorial waters from 3 to 12 nautical miles. The previous day, in anticipation of this, Prince Roy declared the extension of Sealand’s territorial waters to be 12 nautical miles, so that right of way from the open sea to Sealand would not be blocked by British claimed waters (Sealand being approximately 7miles from British shores).

No treaty has been signed between Britain and Sealand to divide up the overlapping areas, but a general policy of dividing the area between the two countries down the middle can be assumed. International
law does not allow the claim of new land during the extension of sea rights, so Sealand’s sovereignty was safely ‘grandfathered’. Some nations might have tried to use this as an excuse to try to subvert international law and claim all of the territory of the smaller and less recognised nation, however, this has not been the case. Britain has made no attempt to take Sealand, and the British government still treats Sealand as an independent State.

2000's: Data and Disaster

In early 1999 a group of young American entrepreneurs pitched the idea of Havenco to Prince Michael. The premise was to establish an internet server farm on Sealand which would allow users to operate free of draconian censorship restrictions imposed by other nations.

During the year 2000, in the midst of the Dot-com boom, contracts were signed, capital was raised and Havenco was established on Sealand, along with bases in London and Amsterdam. Huge infrastructure upgrades began in earnest to accommodate and power the vast racks of servers as well as meet the logistical demands of the project. Satellite and microwave links were installed, and around 25 Staff from the US, UK and Europe immigrated to Sealand, preparing for the launch of the service. Havenco took global media coverage and the inception of the project was met with much fanfare. This would prove to be the first misstep for Havenco, as the launch of the service was beset with delays, and come launch day, the media buzz had cooled.

By late 2000 Havenco launched. Differences became immediately clear between Sealand’s Royal Family, and members of Havenco’s senior management over issues concerning acceptable user policy.  The year following launch would also see Havenco’s founding CEO return to the US citing personal issues. In the latter part of 2002, Havenco’s CTO departed the company in acrimonious circumstances. In 2003, with fast depleting resources, Havenco was disbanded.

In June 2006, a fire ignited due to an anomalous failure of one of Sealand’s power generators. The fire quickly burned through the generator room housing, encompassing the entirety of the north deck. A rescue helicopter was dispatched from RAF Wattisham to evacuate one of Sealand’s citizens. Having been airlifted to hospital, he was treated for smoke inhalation and discharged the same day. The principality had established a good relationship with RAF air-sea rescue teams, and had for years allowed them to run practice drills of airlifting casualties from the Sealand fortress.

In the subsequent weeks, a team of no less than ten people were tasked with clearing and repairing the fire damage.

CLAIM A PIECE OFTHE PRINCIPALITY

Register a piece of Sealand Territory and support the ongoing survival of our Principality.
Add to Basket